Los Fresnos CISD Announces Campus Teacher of the Year Recipients

Los Fresnos CISD announced the recipients of the 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year award during the annual luncheon held this year at the Brownsville Museum of Fine Arts.

One teacher from each of the District’s fifteen campuses was chosen by peers in a voting based system. The educator will now proudly represent their respective campus for one year. They will be divided into two pools of candidates that include elementary and secondary schools. One person from each pool will be chosen to represent that District at Region One based. They will be chosen by a committee based on essays written by their campus principal which will highlight their accomplishments and unique approach to service and excellence in the classroom.


The 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year Recipients are:

Teacher of the Year Recipients for Secondary Schools:

Luis Muniz, Los Fresnos High School

Eduardo Lugo, Jr, Los Fresnos United

Hubert Haylock, Alternative Education Center

Dorothy Coria, Los Cuates Middle School

Bernabe Alejandro, Liberty Memorial Middle School

Abigail Martinez, Resaca Middle School


Teacher of the Year Recipients for Elementary Schools:

Oralia Rivera, Dora Romero Elementary

Alma Moya, Laureles Elementary

Dr. Carolina Cowan, Los Fresnos Elementary

Michelle Rojas, Lopez-Riggins Elementary

Sarai Rodriguez, Las Yescas Elementary

Sandra Salazar, Palmer-Laakso Elementary

Maria R Ramos, Olmito Elementary

Nicole Gomez-Mendez, Rancho Verde Elementary

Melissa Leal, Villareal Elementary


Click here to view photo gallery