Thirty-Six Students Ready for District Spelling Bee Saturday

Thirty-Six Students Ready for District Spelling Bee Saturday
Posted on 01/22/2013

Three representatives from elementary and middle schools across the Los Fresnos CISD will compete in the Los Fresnos CISD Spelling Bee Jan. 26.
The top three students at each of the nine elementary schools and each of the three middle schools qualified for the district bee. All school spelling bees were conducted before the Christmas holidays.


The district winner qualifies for the 25th Annual Rio Grande Valley Spelling Bee to be held March 2 at South Texas College in Weslaco. The champion there qualifies for the 2013 Scripps National Spelling Bee in June in Washington, D.C.


The 2012 LFCISD District Spelling Bee champion was Aiza Nisar from RMS, she came in 2nd place at regionals.  


Competition begins promptly at 9 a.m.


School spelling bee champions, qualifiers and alternates include: 


Liberty Memorial Middle School

First: Annalisa Solis

Second: Clarissa Ibarra

Third: Emma Stambaugh

Alternate: None


Los Cuates Middle School

First: Victoria Chaparro

Second: Alexea Pappas

Third: Zoe Arriaga

Alternate: Russell Estrada


Resaca Middle School

First: Michaela Jones

Second: Sandra Salazar

Third: Alexandra Garcia

Alternate: Ana Islas


Las Yescas Elementary School
First: Rosario Martinez
Second: Jared Garcia
Third: Omar Urista

Alternate: Jacqueline Suarez 


Laureles Elementary School

First: Lesly Patino

Second: Levi Rojas

Third: Clarissa Flores

Alternate: Paola Gregorio 


Los Fresnos Elementary School

First: Vivyanna Guerrero

Second: Rolando Gutierrez

Third: Emma Zavala

Alternate: Jimena Garcia 


Lopez-Riggins Elementary School

First: Charisse Tudon

Second: Giovanna Gudoy

Third: Amy Leal

Alternate: Cassandra Garcia 


Olmito Elementary School

First: Samantha Islas

Second: Emmanuel Chavez

Third: Vanessa Campos 

Alternate: Gilbert Montalvo

Palmer-Laakso Elementary School

First: Pedro Torres

Second: Mia De La Cruz

Third: Amber Gonzalez

Alternate: Giovanna Estrada

Rancho Verde Elementary School

First: Connor Sponsler

Second: Emerald Maciel

Third: Stephen Cepeda

Alternate: Aylin Anzaldua


Dora Romero Elementary School

First: Jazmin Loperena

Second: Samantha Barrera

Third: Michael de Agven

Alternate: Brian Gracia 

Villareal Elementary School

First: Sabrina Hinojosa

Second: Aliyah Gutierrez

Third: Joy Espinoza 

Alternate: Larissa Marie Cortez

To see a gallery of school spelling bee champions, click here

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.